Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry was firstly established under the University of Education Lahore, Okara Campus in September 2005. It was the first discipline in sciences that was started at the university. On April 2016, The Department of Chemistry has been shifted under The University of Okara.

From the start this department had a leading role in teaching and research. Over the past years, the Department of Chemistry has earned good repute and has privilege to produce many eminent graduates. The graduates of this department are holding positions of eminence in Education, Research & Development Organizations and Industries as well as in Administration.

Apart from teaching, research is becoming a very significant part of academic activities of this department. This is due to the presence of much dedicated Faculty & Staff, development of laboratories, availability of sophisticated research facilities and grants from the University/ Government Funding Agencies.

For effective exploitation of the experience, skills, technical know-how of the teaching staff and to impart training to the students, some fields of specialization have been developed, which are Physical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Analytical/ Inorganic Chemistry.

Currently more than 400 students are studying under different sessions in this department, and almost 100 students graduate every year form this department.

At present The Department of Chemistry offering BS (Hons) program only. But in near future department is about to launch M.Sc. Chemistry and MS/ MPhil Chemistry programs to enhance the level of teaching and research in the department.

Complete List of Faculty Members